Wärtsilä HY hybrid power module granted AIP from ABS

LinkedIn +

Technology group Wärtsilä’s hybrid power module, Wärtsilä HY, has been granted Approval in Principle (AIP) by ABS, a global provider of classification and technical advisory services to the marine and offshore industries. This AIP follows another issued by ABS in 2017 for Wärtsilä’s hybrid propulsion tug designs. The Wärtsilä HY hybrid power module combines engines, an energy storage system and power electronics optimized to work together through a newly developed energy management system. According to Wärtsilä, it is the marine sector’s first hybrid power module of this type ever produced. “This AIP is an important step in the development of our eco-friendly hybrid propulsion system, which can be applied to a variety of vessel types,” said Giulio Tirelli, director, sales and business intelligence, Wärtsilä Marine Solutions. “By working with ABS, we are demonstrating the viability of hybrid vessels in a range of applications and highlighting the capability to the US market and further afield.” Demetri Stroubakis, ABS director for equipment and materials, added: “This is the latest example of how ABS is collaborating globally with innovative companies like Wärtsilä to expand approval of hybrid designs for power and propulsion options. We recognize the significant economic and environmental benefits of hybrid-powered vessels and are committed to supporting the development of alternative power applications that optimize efficiencies.”

Share this story:

About Author


Dean has been with UKi Media & Events for over a decade, having previously cut his journalistic teeth writing and editing for various automotive and engineering titles. He combines extensive knowledge of all things automotive with a passion for driving, and experience testing countless new vehicles, engines and technologies around the world. As well as his role as editor-in-chief across a range of UKi's media titles, he is also co-chair of the judging panel of the International Engine of the Year Awards.

Comments are closed.